jump to navigation

Creature of Habit April 12, 2008

Posted by angieland in Chatter.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

In my younger, wilder, less complicated days, I used to be a really impulsive out-there kinda gal.  I’d run off for the weekend at the drop of a hat;  Redecorate on a whim;  Even (gasp!) leave the laundry and dishes undone once in awhile if a better offer came along!   But it seems that jobs, motherhood, and financial responsibilities effectively turned me into a “planner”.  One of those stodgy creatures who likes to know what she’ll be doing for every waking moment of every day.  I find myself on edge if I don’t know what the next move is gonna be.  And planning something big?  Forget about it!  I’ve almost given myself a nervous breakdown just trying to set a date for our vacation this year!  LOL!

So I began wondering why it was that such a scheduler/planner/organizer extraordinairre was having such a hard time getting into a rythym of blogging?  Finally it struck me…..while I usually had time to carve out a block of moments to write, I rarely knew what I wanted to write about when that blank screen was staring me in the face!  You know how it goes…..sometimes the hardest thing is the starting.  I’ve been prodding one of my online buddies to start journaling, and it finally struck me that this blog is nothing more than a public journal.  So I can’t expect her to heed my advice if I’m not practicing it myself, right?

So I’m making this committment….for the remainder of April, I pledge to have at least one new blog entry every other day.  I’m hoping for more of course, but that’s the public goal.  So if any of you want to hold me accountable, check back on my progress.  They say forming a new habit is just a matter of doing it for two solid weeks, so I guess we’ll test that theory.

To aid me in trying not to publicly humiliate myself with failure, I’ve been cruising some of the online bookstores, and a bunch of websites for topic suggestions.  I’ve spent the last week compiling lists of things I want to write about.  Some serious;  Most completely silly.  But just feeding my muse has been great.  All week I’ve begun to feel that little tickle in the back of my brain…..the one that coaxes some of the best ideas out into the light, so we’ll see where it takes us.

What about you??  Any new habits/committments that you need to make in your life? 

Comments»

1. joolzbylisa - April 12, 2008

About damn time for an update… 🙂 Every other day is very ambitious but good luck to you. I’m shooting for 2 times a week (after a 2 week hiatus)…

2. angieland - April 14, 2008

Its hard getting “back in the saddle” after so long, but I’m determined! 😀

3. DChase - April 15, 2008

ut oh! Watch you she is on a mission. 🙂


Leave a Reply

